BOOM! Studios say “Welcome to the Whedonverse” with a Free Comic Book Day exclusive

BOOM! Studios say “Welcome to the Whedonverse” with a Free Comic Book Day exclusive

In the first of today’s Free Comic Book Day 2019 announcements, BOOM! Studios have revealed that two white-hot Joss Whedon properties will be a part of their offering.  Yes, the newly launched Firefly and soon to be released Buffy the Vampire Slayer series will pack a one-two punch in Welcome to the Whedonverse, which contains original stories from both series.  Check out the details below.

Per BOOM!: 

BOOM! Studios Brings Joss Whedon’s BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER & FIREFLY to Free Comic Book Day
Discover Two All New Stories From the Pop Culture Franchises on May 4, 2019

 LOS ANGELES, CA (December 17, 2018) – BOOM! Studios today announced WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, an all-new comic book arriving in comic shops worldwide on Free Comic Book Day (May 4th, 2019), with all new stories featuring two of the greatest creations from visionary Joss Whedon (writer/director Marvel’s The Avengers).

This FREE comic, released in partnership with 20th Century Fox Consumer Products, is the perfect jumping-on point for the “Whedonverse” with all new stories from the worlds of BOOM! Studios’ hit series Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Firefly.

First, Captain Malcolm Reynolds and his first mate Zoe Alleyne Washburne have a bond that was forged in blood during the war that shaped the ‘Verse…but when the awful secret at the core of that bond is finally revealed and they’re called to answer, the people who love them are left to pick up the pieces in an all-new story written by Greg Pak.

Created by Whedon and set 500 years in the future in the wake of a universal civil war,Firefly centers on the crew of Serenity, a small transport spaceship that doesn't have a planet to call home. Mal Reynolds, a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the totalitarian governed Alliance, will undertake any job — legal or not — to stay afloat and keep his crew fed. Thrust together by necessity but staying together out of loyalty, these disparate men and women are seeking adventure and the good life, but face constant challenges on the new frontier, such as avoiding capture by the Alliance, and evading the dangers you find on the fringes of the universe.

And in the second exclusive story, there’s something evil lurking under Sunnydale High School, namely a gateway to a hell dimension that’s been foretold to destroy the world as we know it. Buffy and the gang have mostly got it under control…as long as everything stays exactly as it is, and we mean zero new plot points, no new characters, and absolutely no twists, turns, or misunderstood prophecies. Easy peasy! Writer Jordie Bellaire and artist David López continue the bold reimagining of the groundbreaking mythology that changed pop culture forever.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer premiered on the WB Network on March 10th, 1997. The Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated series, which ran for seven seasons from 1997-2003, stars Sarah Michelle Gellar as “Buffy Summers.” Chosen to battle vampires, demons and other forces of darkness, Buffy is aided by a Watcher who guides and teaches her as she surrounds herself with a circle of friends called the “Scooby Gang.”

WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, featuring a cover by Greg Smallwood (Moon Knight), is the latest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to a world-class group of licensed comic book series and ambitious original series, including Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Planet of the Apes, Abbott, Mech Cadet Yu, Grass Kings, and Klaus.

“We’re committed to making 2019 the biggest year ever for fans of Firefly and Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic books – and that means giving them the most anticipated release of Free Comic Book Day,” said Jeanine Schaefer, Executive Editor, BOOM! Studios. “We’re laying the seeds for some huge stories in each of these series, along with a massive surprise that no Joss Whedon fan can miss!”

 Welcome to the Whedonverse will be available on Free Comic Book Day, May 4, 2019.

IMG_9822.JPG
Tim Seeley and Dan Abnett come to Valiant for Free Comic Book Day 2019

Tim Seeley and Dan Abnett come to Valiant for Free Comic Book Day 2019

‘Marvel’s Spider-Man’ comes to Marvel Comics, home of Marvel’s Spider-Man, inspiration for ‘Marvel’s Spider-Man’

‘Marvel’s Spider-Man’ comes to Marvel Comics, home of Marvel’s Spider-Man, inspiration for ‘Marvel’s Spider-Man’